Hungarian Baby & Farmers Markets

Friday night I made a discovery. Cleaning my apartment is abnormally satisfying. To the point where I was twerking to Beyoncé’ in the midst of scrubbing my cabinet down with Lysol. After a neighbor walked by and judged my leopard sports bra and mannish singing, I decided I should probably close the blinds and patio window for future twerkin’

I decided Saturday would be an unscheduled rest day, instead of Sunday. Not because the calendar said so, not because it was day 5 of 6 of intense workouts. Just honoring my body, resting when I wanna, and embracing balance. Plus you get to sleep in longer and roll around in bed like a beached whale. #winning

20140803-210812-76092997.jpgSaturday morning I put my 2 weeks of free yoga to good use after I woke up from a leisurely slumber. Hot restorative yoga to meditate and help my muscles loosen up is just what the doctor ordered.

20140803-210912-76152415.jpg

I’ve had a farmers market flyer on my fridge for the past 2 weeks. Since my budget is extra tight this month due to larger bills from my move, I needed to make the most of my resources. Tip for budget cautious foodies: farmers markets are a veggie lovers playground for about 60% less than the grocery store.

20140803-210943-76183739.jpgAll dis’ for $17.00, yes, dis. 

And if your wondering, that cabbage is the size of a small Hungarian baby, and the zucchini is it’s Ethiopian baby brother. Forgive me, I am feeling extra culturally diverse after my weekend in Chicago. #culturehub

20140803-211028-76228798.jpg

20140803-211029-76229386.jpgSunday I drove to the city to spend time with family and get out of the neighborhood. I took full advantage of my aunts LA Fitness membership and went to spin! Spinning is my ultimate favorite form of cross-training, as ya’ll know. Now that I don’t belong to a formal gym, going to a real gym is like winning the golden ticket.

giphy
After my 19 mile ride and getting my ass handed to me it was time for girls day in the city. I  was treated to nail day and succumbed to my old school weakness (acrylics – don’t judge).

20140803-211133-76293576.jpgMy hanger kicked in about mid-appointment so we B-lined to Flat Top Grill. This was my first time at Flat Top and I officially broke up with Chipotle, cheated on Cafe Rio, and found my new favorite restaurant. Yep – one and done. It’s that’s damn good. I had 2 full bowls, and went back for thirds.

20140803-211213-76333256.jpg

The concept is you choose whatever you want from produce, protein, sauce, and carbs, they grill it fresh, and bring it to your table in a buddah bowl.

20140803-211214-76334094.jpg

I ate a weeks worth of veggies in one setting. Then went home and ate more. Rocked a veggie belly for the next 9 hours. No biggie.

 

What was the highlight of your weekend?

Who else finds cleaning therapeutic?

What is your favorite go-to healthy spot?

label

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hungarian Baby & Farmers Markets

  1. Kaitlin says:

    Girl, you are doing a wonderful job at this! Adult life is tough and I love the thriftyness of your workouts and produce! I really need to get my act together and pick up some veggies in advance of the week. I’ve been dying for salads at lunch! I just buckled and went into Whole Foods and boy if I wasn’t limited to my gift card (holding off on the credit card there right now 😉 I would buy EVERYTHING!!

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      Hey lovie~ I am trying! Last night my grocery bill crept up to $64 instead of my $50 budget (ahem, restocking pb, jelly, and frozen fish- damn!) but that’s still decent compared to my AZ food budget. Doctoring up frozen veggies has been a life savor, and buying bulk is where it’s at. I only use the credit card to buy my gas, then go home and pay it immediately- just so I get the rewards through BofA. We’ve got this! Only buying what we need, and enjoying our treats when we can afford them.

      Christmas wish list: whole foods gift cards from everyone – ammi right?! 🙂

Leave a comment