Work Night Brinner’

Man o’ man! I am stuck in another food rut, and love it so much I had to stop in and share. For all my working ladies or gals that have extremely busy schedules, I think you might enjoy my current dinner combo. It’s simple, real, wholesome, and inexpensive for those adhering to a food budget like moi 🙂 #reallifestartedlastweek IMG_1363Brinner sandwich:

2 slices sprouted grain bread

2 whole cage free eggs

1 serving fat-free mozzarella

2 tbsp spicy salsa

Black pepper

Optional: Cholua, Siracha, or hot sauce

Coconut oil spray

Sandwich press, George Foreman, or skillet

Brinner sides:

1/2 cup roasted brussels

1 cup roasted cauliflower

1/2 cup roasted onion rings

1/2 cup roasted brocoli

Directions: 

1. In a skillet, cook 2 eggs over easy (almost medium) dash pepper and flip so the yolk can’t break

2. Add cheese, eggs, cheese, press sandwich together, spray skillet, and cook like a “grilled cheese”

3. Egg yolk might break anyways, allow the yolk to cook until hard

4. Roast veggies on the side @ 350 degrees for 30 minutes, spray coconut oil and a dash of S&P

IMG_1360

~Enough salsa and Cholula to cover a small country added post pic~

That’s it, easy peasy! Now that I have a longer commute, reduced food budget, and shorter evenings I am all about keeping it simple & quick without sacrificing taste, HEALTH, and texture change. Because ya’ll know how much I love my crunch to chewy ratio. And who doesn’t love egg and cheese sandwiches (or in this case, Panini)?

Tip: Swap out the Cholua and salsa for a fruit jam if you want a sweet & savory combo. Brie cheese would be a fabulous addition to that. IMG_1362

Do you guys like quick post like this?

What is your favorite work night dinner?

Team sweet, or team savory?label

 

 

11 thoughts on “Work Night Brinner’

  1. Aurora says:

    That looks delicious! I had brinner last night but it was much less exciting! And I’m definitely about the quick dinners-I don’t often get back until late and I don’t want to wait around!

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      I am all about quick dinners lately, STAT. I like to make more “leisurely” meals on the weekend if I have time. But now that I’ve moved, have a tighter budget, and less time – it’s all about convenience. I guess it makes me appreciate those moments when I can go all out and sit down for a long dinner. Otherwise, pass me the eggs and Cholula! Or Sirachia 😉

      Miss chatting with you girlie.

  2. Kaitlin says:

    Yes oh yes, a prime meal I think! I certainly haven’t gotten the hang of actually making or prepping gourmet dinners for the week. Eggs seem to be my best friends when I’m rushing home post work/working out and don’t have much patience 🙂

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      Girl – my life is all about eggs for dinner (with salsa or Cholula). I can’t beat only $1.79 for a week worth of eggs for dinner. Living on my own deff makes me put my food into perspective. Sometimes less is more 😉 Plus they are damn good. Problem solved, wallet happy, check and check!

  3. Domi says:

    Aye carumba that looks tasty! Egg sandwiches are one of my favorite breakfasts (and brinners!). But mostly I’m just having an affair with those roasted veggies. Come…to…mama!!

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      I am so in love with grinner lately! You can’t beat cheap dinners that are delicious and quick! I want to master egg soufflés or start making fritatas that I can just top with cheese and reheat during the weeknights…TBC! haha 🙂

      Roasted veggies have my heart. Forever. That is all.

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      Girl, eggs are my daily routine for dinner now. Inexpensive, fast, versatile, and a superfood powerhouse. I can’t wait to get kale next weekend to have on the side like you did the other night – *Drooling*

      • aggieruns says:

        I LOVE Kale. I make mine by putting it in the oven (after drizzling it with some olive oil). I let it cook for about 8 mins in a 400 degree oven and VOILA! – the kale comes out crunchy and yummy. I add pepper sometimes to it before or after I put it in the oven.

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      I have thought about this glorious aged cheddar, apple, and balsamic vinegar combo about 4 times today…next time I go grocery shopping I am making this happen. I might get naughty and splurge on some brie cheese in place of cheddar. Only you would think of a combo so tasty, bravo my friend. I knew I loved ya for a reason.

Leave a comment