Feeling humble in Humboldt

Today marks two weeks down in my new state!

I am trying to sound out a “word” to express what I am feeling this very moment. It’s a mix between sigh, woof, and aye-aye-aye. How about I just say, what a weekend! In all the best ways possible.

After work Friday evening I jumped in my car and headed into the city for a sleep over at my aunt’s house. The traffic gods knew I was heading into the city, and cursed me with 2 hours of bumper-to-bumper traffic. What does Ashley do when hang-er attacks? Chipotle. Extra picco and guac.

I ended the day on a sweet note with this night-cap//

IMG_5852(broiled chocolate chunk Quest bar 350 degrees for 2 minutes, and fresh raspberries for the win)

Saturday morning I couldn’t sleep in because I was too excited for the NTC Summer tour in a few hours. I decided to kill time and explore the neighborhood with a 4 mile run, and some yoga-ish stuff in the park. #totallynormal

IMG_5879 IMG_5883I knew I would need extra energy for the Nike tour, so I headed back to whip up a warm bowl of oats w/ the fresh berries my aunt so generously bought for me to snack on. #broke #adulthoodsucks IMG_5863(Organic steel-cut oats, water, stevia, cinnamon, nutmeg, fresh blackberries, raspberries, and 2 egg whites whipped in)

IMG_5875 IMG_5872 IMG_5886 IMG_5878I met up with Melanie and had an intense workout in the gorgeous Humboldt park. I soaked in all of my surroundings and kept smiling to myself about how awesome this life is that we live!

WE ARE THE LUCKY ONES!

Good health, employment, education, family, friends, love, illness free. I could go on forever.

Now about the actual workout~ It was like Shaun-T from INSANITY was hosting the boot camp, x2! Lot’s of burpees, air squats, push ups, crunches, etc. It was a great experience, I introduced myself to new people, got uncomfortable (in a good way), and met some amazing women.  I learned about a lot of awesome running groups that I plan on networking with in the near future 🙂

I might even join a local sports league and try something new. Basketball anyone? 😉

10561600_312789395512413_3270207561225153866_nPhoto Credit: NTC Chicago Facebook page

IMG_589310 minutes into the boot camp I knew Sunday was going to be an obligatory rest day. I could feel a huge knot in the back of my left hamstring starting to tighten. I also wanted a day all to myself in my new apartment with no external demands. Lot’s of food, Hulu, cleaning, and relaxation happened. Guilt free, and loved every second of it.

I really honor my rest days now. I slept in and took a free hot yoga class to work out that hamstring. Just what the doctor ordered to relax my mind, body, and spirit.

Moving out for the first time, across the country, to a new state, new job, and new life has been the most stressful thing in my life. And it has been the biggest blessing I could have ever imagined. My body had a minor freak out with long the travel, change in foods, lack of rest, and the burden of elevated stress. My weight dropped, acne came out to play, emotions escalated, and a general feeling of anxiousness. I am happy to report that I am back to normal”Ashley” after getting my sleep back in check, more physical rest, more food, and more prayer.

Name one word to describe what your feeling after this weekend.

What is one thing that has made you grow in the last month?

What do you think of rest days? How many do you take?label

13 thoughts on “Feeling humble in Humboldt

  1. Domi says:

    NTC sounds like it was an amazing time! Also, those LEGS, girl! Daaaamn 😉

    I’ve grown a lot in the past month working at Starbucks for the interim while I navigate a big career change…humbling and motivating all at once, haha.

    Rest days are becoming my friend. I take at least 1x week, and I’m really getting better at taking more if I need to, or at least scaling back my workouts.

    Glad to hear you are feeling back to your old self in your new city! 🙂 Funny how sleep and prayer always seem to make things better, haha. Praying that things just keep getting better for ya, doll!

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      NTC was amazing, I am still shocked that Nike hosted such an elaborate FREE event with food, instructors, Smart Water, towels, etc. Like is this real life? ha ha 😉 Those moments in life that make you stay humble and patient are the ones that I think I grow the most. It’s difficult when you have your eyes on the prize – but so rewarding once you reach your goals. So hang in there love. Today is my rest day! Too many knots in my hamstrings and feeling fatigued after a workout without bouncing back as fast as I should calls for an obligatory rest day. Happy Sunday, I hope you have a beautiful and uplifting day ❤

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      Thanks beautiful, I am! I find a moment in everyday where I look up at the sky or my new surroundings amazed/stunned that I am actually living this life! We will make a meet up work eventually, it might have to be after the winter if we can get it in soon haha. I heard people hibernate in the winters here.

  2. run2golden says:

    I love doing yoga on rest days! Such a great way to unwind after a week of workouts! That Quest Bar- I need to try and broil one ASAP! Congrats on your move- enjoy your new city!

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      Yoga is my first choice on rest days, my 2 week pass expired and today is my rest day (womp womp). But I still plan on stretching, foam rolling, and doing some meditative breathing at mi casa. Or mi apartment? haha! Thanks for the well wishes lovely. I hope you have a relaxing and rewarding Sunday!

  3. Ashley says:

    You’re awesome! I love that you’re jumping right in and getting active with your community. So glad to hear you’re loving your new life in the city! 🙂

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      Thanks Ashley! I figured it’s the best way to get out and explore while hopefully meeting new people! Thank you for the well wishes. Hopefully we can touch base when I come back home to walk at ASU’s fall ceremony this December! Cafe Rio date? I am officially deprived and having separation anxiety haha 🙂

  4. Alison @ Daily Moves and Grooves says:

    Broiled quest bars?? Wowza that looks good.
    So cool that you got to work out in such a gorgeous outdoor setting! It’s way too hot in Florida to do that. Hot yoga can be done here easily though 😉
    This month has actually taught me to embrace rest days, which are happening more often than not at the moment. I’ve learned that I am happy even if I’m heavier than ever. I learned that patience is still the key to so many things.

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      They are fantabulous! You must try them girl – it gives them a cookie exterior while keeping the inside gooey 🙂 Speaking of, today is my rest day! It should have been yesterday, but I had a chance to train at an actual ‘gym’ vs. my apartment gym, so I had to take advantage. But my body is hating me for it today. So REST and food will be happening all day. With a side of cleaning my apartment, a new kindle download maybe, and baking. I ideal “me” day 🙂 Happy Sunday girlie, I hope you are enjoying yourself and relaxing too!

  5. Amy @ Long Drive Journey says:

    Oh girl, I obviously haven’t made the move to Chicago yet, but I have moved across the country three times now, and amazingly, it does get easier! You have such a positive attitude and I’m glad that sleep has helped you get back into the swing of things! How cool that you went to that outdoor workout! I am so excited to get there NEXT WEEK!

    • Ashley @MilesonOats says:

      I figure at that point you are en route to the windy city (here by now)! Sending prayers your way that you get here safe (and keeping your sleep in check). That really effected my body – in such a bizarre way. Glad to be back to normal and even sleeping in on the weekends now. Thank the Lord! Can’t wait to check out some concerts with you ~ and there are a ton of free concerts downtown all August and September to wrap up the summer festivals!

Leave a comment